MathCrypt 2021

(Santa Barbara, USA on Aug 15, 2021)

Original research papers on mathematical aspects of cryptology are solicited for submission to MathCrypt 2021, the third international Workshop on Mathematical Cryptology. It will be held as an affiliated workshop of Crypto 2021. The important dates are as follows:

  • Submission:   June 1st, 2021, 6:00 AM
  • Acceptance notification: July 1st, 2021
  • Final version due: August 1st, 2021 (will be published on our website)
  • Journal version due: September 1st, 2021 (will be published in JMC)
  • Workshop presentations: August 15th, 2021 13:00 - 17:00 UTC



The links to join the online zoom meeting of the MathCrypt workshop are available on this page:, and require to be registered to the Crypto2021 conference.

All the speakers are welcome to join 15 min prior to the start of the first session to check their microphone and connectivity.

Session 1 - 13:00 - 14:00 UTC - Chair: David Jao
13:00 UTC Trustless unknown-order groups
Samuel Dobson; Steven D. Galbraith;Benjamin Smith
13:20 UTC Solving the constructive Deuring correspondence via the Kohel-Lauter-Petit-Tignol algorithm
Yuta Kambe; Masaya Yasuda; Masayuki Noro; Kazuhiro Yokoyama; Yusuke Aikawa; Katsuyuki Takashima; Momonari Kudo
13:40 UTC Higher-Degree Supersingular Group Actions
Mathilde Chenu; Benjamin Smith
break (15 min)
Session 2 - 14:15 - 15:15 UTC - Chair: Nicolas Gama
14:15 UTC The Landscape of Card-Based Protocols
Alexander Koch
14:35 UTC Quantum Security of the Legendre PRF
Paul Frixons; André Schrottenloher
14:55 UTC Provably Solving the Hidden Subset Sum Problem via Statistical Learning
Jean-Sebastien Coron; Agnese Gini
break (15 min)
Session 3 - poster talks - 15:30 - 15:50 UTC - Chair: Travis Morrison
break (10 min)
Session 4 - 16:00 - 17:00 UTC - Chair: Edoardo Persichetti
16:00 UTC Cryptanalysis of Semidirect Product Key Exchange Using Matrices Over Non-Commutative Rings
Christopher Battarbee; Delaram Kahrobaei; Siamak F. Shahandashti
16:20 UTC Index calculus attacks on hyperelliptic Jacobians with efficient endomorphisms
Sulamithe Tsakou; Sorina Ionica
16:40 UTC Commitment Schemes from Supersingular Elliptic Curve Isogeny Graphs
Bruno Sterner

Instructions for Authors:

We expect to accept submissions in two categories: full papers and poster presentations. Full papers will be presented as talks at the workshop, while posters will be included in a poster session. Accepted full papers will be published in the proceedings as a Special Issue of the Journal of Mathematical Cryptology.

For full papers, please follow the guidelines of Mathematical Cryptology: submissions must begin with an abstract of less than 150 words. The abstract must be followed by an appropriate classification according to the MSC 2010 (Mathematics Subject Classification) and a list of 3-6 keywords. The short title for the running head should contain at most 80 characters, spaces inclusive. Authors are asked to follow a few basic guidelines while formatting their paper for publication, in order for the journal to be as homogeneous in appearance as possible. Please download the LaTeX class file and the respective sample file including the instructions for formatting here. Submissions not meeting these guidelines risk rejection without consideration of their merits

Submissions must be sent electronically in the PDF format, the submission link is All submissions will be blind-refereed and submissions must be anonymous, with no author names, affiliations, or obvious references. Full papers are limited to 12 pages, excluding references and appendices if any. A poster presentation is expected to consist of 1-2 pages. (Longer papers do not mean better papers, so we recommend that authors choose the proper length for their submission depending on the topic and content.

Conference Organizers / PC chairs:

Jung Hee CheonSNU, Korea
Kristin LauterFacebook AI Research (FAIR), USA
Sorina IonicaUniversite de Picardie, France
David JaoWaterloo University, Canada
Nicolas GamaInpher, Switzerland
Edoardo PersichettiFlorida Atlantic University, USA
Travis MorrisonWaterloo University, Canada

Contact via

PC members:

Shi BaiFlorida Atlantic University, USA
Magalie BardetUniversité de Rouen Normandie, France
Lily ChenNIST, USA
Chen-Mou Cheng Kanazawa University, Japan
Anamaria CostacheNorwegian University of Technology and Science, Norway
Wei DaiMicrosoft Research, Redmond, USA
Claire DelaplaceUniv. de Picardie Jules Verne, France
Jintai DingTsinghua University, China
Yarkin Doroz Worcester Polytechnic Institute, USA
Annamaria IezziUniversité de la Polynésie Française, French Polynesia
Hyang-Sook LeeEwha Womans University, Korea
Alfred MenezesUniversity of Waterloo, Canada
Christophe PetitUniversité libre de Bruxelles and University of Birmingham
Ling SanNanyang Technological University, Singapore.
Renate ScheidlerUniversity of Calgary, Canada
Igor ShparlinskiUNSW, Sydney
Kate StangeUniversity of Colorado, Boulder, USA
Damien StehleENS Lyon, France
Rainer SteinwandtUniversity of Alabama in Huntsville, USA
Tsuyoshi TakagiUniversity of Tokyo, Japan
Ha TranConcordia University of Edmonton, Canada